top of page

AULD ALLIANCE FIDDLERS SOCIETY

The Auld Alliance Fiddlers Society was born from the collaboration of three lovers of Scottish traditional music. This music is not widely represented in France today, despite the existence of the Auld Alliance dating back to 1295, which united the Scots and the French against the English invaders.

We have two missions. The first is to promote the tradition of Scottish fiddle in France. Irish music is widely practiced in France today, and we want to introduce the incredible richness of Scottish repertoire, which has been developed around the world by talented musicians. Our second mission is to make the experience as unforgettable as possible. We want this journey to be not only musical but also deeply human, by fostering connections between musicians and participants.

WHY ?

President

Xavier  HAMON

Xavier_edited.jpg

I began playing the fiddle in 2000 at the age of 17 at the Amzer Nevez cultural center after attending a concert by the Gaelic Storm group. Yes, I'm part of the "Titanic" wave too, but I embrace it :)

In 2013, my Scottish adventure began when I discovered the incredible violinists of the Boston scene on the internet: Hanneke Cassel, Katie McNally, Jenna Moynihan, and more. Luckily, Katie became my online teacher for a year and led me to participate in my first two Fiddle Camps: Boston Harbord Fiddle School (2014) and Pure Dead Brilliant (2018). Two experiences I will never forget. Since 2015, I have been sharing my passion for Scottish music by organizing workshops at Château de Goulaine. We have had the privilege of welcoming Katie McNally, Elizabeth & Ben Anderson, Jenna Moynihan & Mairi Chaimbeul, Alasdair Fraser & Natalie Haas, Galen Fraser, Maria San Miguel & Jesús Enrique Cuadrado, and Brittany Haas.

With the Auld Alliance Fiddlers Society, we want to continue on this path and organize the first Scottish Fiddle Camp in France. Join us on this adventure!

THE CREW

Treasurer

Julien  Arbey

Alias the IT Guy! The Ionian, the Dorian, the Phrygian, the Lydian, the Mixolydian... nothing scares him as long as he can encode information into binary.

Secretary

Flore-Anne  Rooster

Alias the Duck Face! A fan of Irish music, she still doesn't realize that she joined an association for the promotion of Scottish music.

Vice President

Arnaud  Goulpeau

Alias the Enthusiast! Photographer, drone pilot, he wants to capture every moment of life. He doesn't want to miss a single bit!

Vice Secretary

Etienne  stool

Alias the Collector! Scottish music is his passion! Legend has it that he owns over 13,400 albums.

Vice Treasurer

Francis  Troffigue

Alias the Tenacious! Guitarist, banjo player, violinist, accordionist... masonry, luthiery... he wants to master it all. Nothing scares him!

Philip  Provost

Alias the Session Master! He's always there, and he's got the skills! He knows a good bunch of tunes!

LouisaAlix Bonodot

Alias Bass Clef! She does things differently, starting with owning an oversized violin.

bottom of page

top of page

AULD ALLIANCE FIDDLERS SOCIETY

La Auld Alliance Fiddlers Society est née de la collaboration de trois amoureux de musique traditionnelle écossaise. Une musique peu représentée aujourd'hui sur le territoire français malgré l'existence de cette Vieille Alliance datant de 1295, unifiant les Ecossais aux Français contre l'envahisseur Anglais.

 

Nous avons deux missions. La première étant de promouvoir la tradition du Fiddle écossais en France. La musique irlandaise, aujourd'hui, est très pratiquée sur le territoire français, et nous souhaitons faire découvrir ce répertoire écossais qui est d'une richesse incroyable et développé à travers le monde par des musiciens talentueux. Notre deuxième mission est de rendre l'expérience la plus inoubliable possible. Nous voulons que cette aventure soit musicale mais avant tout humaine, en favorisant les rencontres entres musiciens et participants.

Pourquoi ?

Président

Xavier  HAMON

Xavier_edited.jpg

Je commence la pratique du fiddle en 2000 à l'âge de 17 ans, au centre culturel Amzer Nevez, après avoir assisté au concert du groupe Gaelic Storm. Et oui, je fais partie de la vague "Titanic" moi aussi, mais j'assume :)

C'est en 2013 que l'aventure écossaise commence pour moi, en découvrant sur internet les violonistes

incroyables de la scène Bostonienne : Hanneke Cassel, Katie McNally, Jenna Moynihan ... Par

chance, Katie deviendra mon professeur à distance pendant un an et va m'amener à participer à mes deux premiers Fiddle Camps : Boston Harbord Fiddle School (2014) & Pure Dead Brilliant (2018). Deux expériences que je n'oublierai jamais. Depuis 2015, je partage ma passion pour la musique écossaise en organisant des Workshops au Château de Goulaine. Nous avons eu le privilège d'accueillir : Katie McNally, Elizabeth & Ben Anderson, Jenna Moynihan & Mairi Chaimbeul, Alasdair Fraser & Natalie Haas, Galen Fraser, Maria San Miguel & Jesús Enrique Cuadrado, Brittany Haas.

Avec la Auld Alliance Fiddlers Society, nous voulons continuer sur cette lancée, et monter le premier Scottish Fiddle Camp en France. Prenez part à l'aventure avec nous !

L'EQUIPE

Trésorier

Julien  Arbey

Alias l'Informaticien ! Le Ionien, le Dorien, le Phrygien, le Lydien, le Mixolydien, ... rien ne lui fait peur du moment qu'il peut encoder l'information en binaire.

Secrétaire

Flore-Anne  Lecoq

Alias le Duck Face ! Fan de musique irlandaise, elle ne sait toujours pas qu'elle a adhéré à une association pour la promotion de la musique écossaise.

Vice Président

Arnaud  Goulpeau

Alias le Passionné ! Photographe, pilote de drone, il souhaite capturer chaque moment de la vie. Il ne veut pas en perdre une miette !

Vice Secrétaire

Etienne  Tabourier

Alias le Collectionneur ! La musique écossaise, c'est son dada ! La légende dit qu'il possèderait plus de 13400 albums.

Vice Trésorier

François  Troffigué

Alias l'Acharné ! Guitariste, banjoïste, violoniste, accordéoniste ... maçonnerie, lutherie ... il veut tout maitriser. Rien ne lui fait peur !

Philippe  Prévot

Alias le Sessionneur ! Il est toujours là, et il en a sous le capot ! Il connait une bonne brochette de tunes! 

Louise Alix-Bonodot

Alias Clé de Fa ! Elle ne fait rien comme les autres à commencer par posséder un violon surdimensionné. 

bottom of page